Leaders F (0%)
Groups F (0%)
Events F (0%)
History F (0%)
Opposition F (0%)
Tactics F (0%)
Content F (0%)

Grade levels F (0%)
Current events F (0%)
Civics F (0%)
Other movements F (0%)
Context F (0%)

GRADE F means North Dakota includes none or less than 20% of the recommended content and should significantly revise its standards.

Survey of Standards and Frameworks
The North Dakota Content and Achievement Standards for Social Studies (December 2007) addresses the civil rights movement briefly for high school. In addition to these content standards, the state issues performance standards for social studies. Last updated in September 2001, these are not content-driven and do not mention the civil rights movement or other important events such as either of the world wars.

Elementary and Middle School
There are no requirements for civil rights movement instruction.

High School
U.S. History:
Students are expected to “Analyze the struggle for equal opportunity (e.g., civil rights movement, Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X, civil rights legislation and court cases, civil rights organizations, National Organization for Women, Equal Rights Amendment, American Indian Movement, Caesar Chavez).”

North Dakota does not require students to learn about the civil rights movement. Instead it includes vague language about the “struggle for equal opportunity.” This represents a missed opportunity to set high expectations for learning about one of American history’s most important events.