Leaders F (0%)
Groups F (0%)
Events F (0%)
History F (0%)
Opposition F (0%)
Tactics F (0%)
Content F (0%)

Grade levels F (0%)
Current events F (0%)
Civics F (0%)
Other movements F (0%)
Context F (0%)

GRADE F means South Dakota includes none or less than 20% of the recommended content and should significantly revise its standards.

Survey of Standards and Frameworks
South Dakota provides scant inclusion of the civil rights movement in its standards, and only for high school.

Elementary and Middle School
There are no requirements for students to learn about the civil rights movement.

High School
U.S. History:
The civil rights movement is offered as an example for covering this high school social studies standard: “Students are able to describe the causes and effects of cultural, economic, religious, political, and social reform movements on the development of the United States.” Other listed examples are: women’s suffrage, populists and progressives, isolationists, anarchists, anti-communism, American Indian Movement and the Reagan revolution.

South Dakota does not require students to learn about the civil rights movement.